Community outreach caps 2016 Training of Trainers

With enriched knowledge on the concepts of marine conservation and enhanced communication skills, the participants of this year’s Training of Trainers (TOT) proved that they are ready to be champions of environmental awareness as they successfully conducted a community outreach activity in Bgy. Manalo, Puerto Princesa City last Saturday, July 2nd.

It was the highlight of their four-day training with the theme “Communicating Marine Conservation”. Sixteen participants from various partner agencies demonstrated their new learnings to the community through environmental talks, songs, dances, skits, jingles, and games that they developed. The Tubbataha Youth Ambassadors, Philippine Coast Guard District – Palawan, Puerto Princesa Subterranean River National Park, DENR, PCSD, and the Tubbataha Management Office sent their representatives to the training. The activity was made possible through financing from the Pilipinas Shell Foundation, Inc.



SN2 Oliver Mazo PCG encourages the children of Bgy. Manalo to properly segregate their solid waste.


Mr. Jan Elmer Badilla from PPSRNP talks about the ecological significance of mangroves, reminding the community of the benefits that they derive from such ecosystems.


Tubbataha Youth Ambassador Jannica Aurelio acts in front of a crowd composed mostly of fisherfolk wives.


The children of Bgy. Manalo play a game about proper waste segregation.


A young boy receives an environmental activity book from Ms. Phoebejean Aludia of WWF – Philippines.


They did it! Everyone was all smiles after two successful outreach sessions.



The newest environmental champions are:  Tubbataha Youth Ambassadors Hanniel S. Almasco, Jannica R. Aurelio, Kim Cymer L. Dela Cruz, Davidde Kyle P. Venturillo Tubbataha Management Office Jumaiyah P. Macalabo, Rosalie Anne O. Tarrobago PCG District – Palawan SN2 Oliver M. Mazo PCG, SN2 Ivan Luisian L. Pabalan PCG Puerto Princesa Subterranean River National Park Mary Ann B. Andrade, Jan Elmer I. Badilla, Anchovy T. Barros, Sherry Anne A. Valdez WWF-Philippines Phoebejean H. Aludia DENR – CENRO Puerto Princesa Elany P. Sanico DENR – PENRO Palawan Lauri Rose S. Coquia Palawan Council for Sustainable Development Ai Nhi R. Trudeau, and Ian Christian A. Vega.